Pop/Rock Dance Hiphop Jazz World Classical Contemporary Stage Festival Genre tree


Summary | Biography | Discography | Photos | Audio/Video

this beautiful mess in 2009


1997 - 2010




Officiële website

this beautiful mess

Emo pop band which 2001 debut album is also released in the US, Canada and Japan.
Full biography


Lydia Wever   toetsinstrumenten, zang
Abne Herrebout   basgitaar
Joop Flamman   gitaar
Arjen Van Wijk   zang

Former members

Axel Kabboord   drums

Mentioned in the biography of

2000   Martijn Groeneveld
2001   The Sheer
2002   at the close of every day
More results Less results

Biography this beautiful mess

Emo pop band which 2001 debut album is also released in the US, Canada and Japan.


This beautiful mess is formed by Arjen van Wijk (ex-bassist with Rollercoaster 23), Axel Kabboord (drummer in Danish group Glorybox), Joop Flamman and Abne Herrebout. Initially the band is heavily influenced by new wave and post grunge music. Later on they develop their own style, which is influenced by the music of Radiohead and the Cure. The band's melodic songs are based upon inventive rhythms and bass lines.

Rollercoaster 23


In May this beautiful mess comes in touch with Sally Forth Records.


Although this beautiful mess has already signed a recording deal with Sally Forth Records earlier in the year, recordings for the band's debut album do not start until December. The album is produced by Minco Eggersman and René de Vries (The Spirit That Guides Us and Rollercoaster 23).


In March the band is joined by keyboardist/vocalist Lydia Wever. She is also member of the band Brown Feather Sparrow. In May the single Clean comes out (Sally Forth Records), followed by the release of the Falling On Deaf Ears in June. The band's style can best be described as emotional pop with spiritual lyrics. In September the US label Deep Elm releases the album Falling On Deaf Ears in the US, Canada and Japan. In December this beautiful mess wins the Popslag award (now called Buzz 3FM Music Award), the only talent show for bands on national radio. This is partly due to their very original version of the K-Otic song Damn I Think I Love You.

Brown Feather Sparrow K-otic


This beautiful mess plays the Eurosonic festival. Recording company Deep Elm includes the track Unsuitable For Any Melody But Yours on the compilation CD Unreleased 1. The song Racing The Mosaic ends up on the renowned The Emo Diaries, Chapter Seven compilation. The US Time Magazine mentions this beautiful mess in an article about emo. Sally Forth Records re-releases the single Clean, with the cover Damn I Think I Love You as additional track. In April this beautiful mess and Ozarck Henry tour the Netherlands. In May the band is part of the line-up of the Sally Family 80's Festivals, which were organised by Sally Forth Records to celebrate the label's fifth anniversary. On the compilation album Hits Of The 80's this beautiful mess covers Love Song by the Cure. In June it is announced that this beautiful mess has won an Essent Music Award and the band is invited to play at the Lowlands festival. Members of this beautiful mess and Rollercoaster 23 form At The Close Of Every Day with which record a cover of the Church song Under The Milky Way (Hits Of The 80's compilation album) and release the album Zalig Zijn De Armen Van Geest ('Blessed Are The Poor Of Mind').

at the close of every day


this beautiful mess The song Cacophonic is used for Amped 2, a snowboard game by Microsoft. The album Temper The Wind To The Shorn Lamb, which is released in September, boasts vocal contributions by keyboard player Lydia Wever. Wever and Stefan van Maurik from Satellite 7 form Jodi's Doorstep.

Brown Feather Sparrow Rollercoaster 23 Satellite7


This Beautiful Mess impresses at the Noorderslag festival in January. Late April/early May the band goes to Spain and Portugal. Lydia Wever and Abne Herrebout guest on the solo album 'the wagon fair' that Minco Eggersman (at the close of every day) releases under the name ME.

Minco Eggersman


this beautiful mess After an almost two-year sabbatical, this beautiful mess releases a new and 1000 copies limited edition CD. Away With The Swine is a mini album containing seven tracks. The tracks were recorded during the Temper The Wind To The Shorn Lamb sessions, the band's previous album. Away With The Swine is released through Sally Forth Records in collaboration with Munich Records.


this beautiful mess is one of the bands playing at Sally Forth Records 10th anniversary. The mini album Away With The Swine, completed with four new tracks, is also released in Japan and the United States.

Discography this beautiful mess

In the discography you will find all recordings that have been released listed chronologically. We restrict ourselves to the title, the type of audio, year of publication or recording, label, list of guest musicians, plus any comments on the issue.

Photos this beautiful mess

Audio/Video this beautiful mess

No audio- or video material is yet available.
Add audio or video

Add audio or video

Muziekencyclopedie.nl on Facebook Muziekencyclopedie.nl on Twitter